Intervals

Words are my friends.

They identify, clarify and magnify my world so I can offer them, note by idiomatic note, to others. When I write, speak or sing in the language of words, I love how words transform what is unspoken and unheard into that which is unveiled, revealed and conversationally alive.

Each time I create a new blog post for The Voice Guide, I am on a treasure hunt for those words that serve not just the theme-du-jour, but also serve you, the reader. I want this to be a smooth little word-woven ride; I aspire to make life more meaningful from breath to bone to broadcast.

As our summer begins to wind down here in the northern climes, I find myself at a crossroads. The leaves quake as the daylight wanes, and the season within me is shifting, too.

The stars, sifting through dusky clouds, grow louder with the onset of night.

“Sing!” they croon from the heavens, in harmonic intervals. “It’s time to sing!”

In music, an interval is the distance between two notes (pitches). A melody is simply a series of consecutive pitches and the intervals between them that create a musical strain. In the world of song, intervals come in various types (major, minor, perfect, etc.) and sizes (2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, etc.) that collectively create the overall sound, temperament, and feel of a piece.

In life, an interval is a period of space or time wherein some action or activity is paused or stopped. It is a respite; a reprieve. It is a gap in continuity; an intermission; an opening. I liken it to my last blog post/poem, Between the Notes, and do believe my own song is beginning to stir, like a late summer wind, from dreamtime to dawning.

I am listening quite intently to the stellar intervals of my heartstrings these days, and am excited to explore my own sonic melody more deeply and concertedly. It has been many moons (and a total solar eclipse) since I’ve brought my song to the fore.  And so, dear readers, I will be taking a bit of a hiatus from my blog to heed this call in my creative life. I will pop in and out of the clouds from time to time, with words and wonderings that simply must be expressed.

In the meanwhile, here is a clip from a playful song I wrote many years ago that sums up my recognition of The Voice as a living, laughing, loving force of Musical Nature.

Guitarist Vohn Regensburger accompanied me on this one-take version of I Am the Voice, which is available for download through cdbaby:

https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/lynnskinner8

Stay in tune, and in touch ~

©2017 Lynn Skinner

2 thoughts on “Intervals

  1. Best of luck. If you share your songs, let me know! I’d love a concert! My students loved your words to “In Spite of the Rain”. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jana. I really appreciate your words, and am happy to hear that the students enjoyed my lyrics. I have no doubt this blog has heightened my desire to write and compose more in musical form, and I’m very excited to turn the soil and see/hear what pops!
      I will definitely keep you posted.

      Like

Leave a comment